Woodturning Online

Woodworking Online Forum
It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 6:49 pm

Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
SEGMENTING BOWL CALCULATOR

Post SEGMENTING BOWL CALCULATOR
Good Evening,
I am new to this board. I have been turning for about two years now on a mini lathe. Lots of projects with more to come now that I have retired from the Navy after 33 years.
I have done a few segemnted bowls and when I did these I did all the calculations on paper. After LOML bought me this new laptop I found a few calculator online that did all this for me, all I had to do was to put the size and number of segments I was going to use in the bowl and the calculator did it all for me. I know there are programs you can BUY, but I do not want to do that.
I saved this calculator on my hard drive, but recently my hard drive crashed. The folks at Dell said I had a faulty one. Now that I am up and running I can not find that calculator.
I was hoping someone out there can point me to the website, any takers?
Thank you

Carl
USN AOCM(AW/SW) RET

Fri Mar 06, 2009 7:17 pm

Post Re: SEGMENTING BOWL CALCULATOR
Welcome to the forum. I know I have it somewhere on my computer but can't find it. For the moment, until I can either find it or embarrass myself with failure, have a look at these:

http://www.woodweb.com/knowledge_base/_ ... ogram.html

http://www.fisherwoodcraft.com/tips.php?TIP=calc

http://www.fisherwoodcraft.com/calc.xhtml

http://www.turnedwood.com/software.html

http://www.segmentedturning.com/software.htm

http://www.delorie.com/wood/compound-cuts.html

http://www.turnedwood.com/FrameMiterBowl.html

Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:06 am

Thank you very much. Not the sites where I found the original calculator but they will help me.

Carl

Sat Mar 07, 2009 6:38 am

I have a program labeled 'Segments' by Tony Leonard that does what you are looking for. Try Google to find it, best of luck. :D

Clint

Sat Mar 07, 2009 8:40 pm

http://www.oldrebelworkshop.com/article1.htm

Look for