Woodturning Online

Woodworking Online Forum
It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 2:55 am

Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Deft high gloss lacquer

Post Deft high gloss lacquer
This is the first time I am using Deft High Gloss lacquer on a Christmas Ornament, which I am currently turning. I have never used deft before. I have always used a standard friction polish, wax and buff. Has any one use deft before? Do you have any tips on using it. I saw a turner using Deft at a show while making some small bird house ornaments. He was used it like friction polish. However, after reading the label on the Deft can, it appears you have to let Deft dry for 30 min or more between each application??? Is this true?? Help, if you know more about this Deft lacquer product??? Thanks. Turner Ted.

Thu Dec 30, 2010 4:37 pm
Site Admin

Post Re: Deft high gloss lacquer
My experience with Deft (and other lacquers) is to apply and allow to dry. Additional coats can be applied easily to great more coverage and shine as lacquer bonds to previous layers through a chemical process basically making it all one layer...

I've never seen anyone use it like a friction polish and would suspect that it would get tacky and be hard to handle. But it would be great to hear if anyone has used it this way...

Dennis

Fri Dec 31, 2010 6:41 am
Profile WWW

Use as a French polish is possible with the drop of oil lubricating the pad when it starts to drag.

Fri Dec 31, 2010 7:36 am