Woodturning Online

Woodworking Online Forum
It is currently Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:28 am

Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
sphere with trapped marble

Post sphere with trapped marble
Hello folks,
I've been turning now for approximately 2 months and loving every minute that I'm in the shed, which I share with my hubby(when he can get in it).Anyway I am wanting to know how to make these spheres with the trapped marble/s in them.I have searched on the net and can't find them.Can anyone out there direct me to a site or send me details on how to make them.many thanks and happy turning.

Mon Nov 27, 2006 4:28 am
Site Admin

Post Trapped marble
I'm not sure that I can picture the object that you mention... do you have a picture of one??

The only thing that comes to mind based on your description is a "Chinese Ball"... something like this??

Am I close??

Dennis

Mon Nov 27, 2006 8:50 am
Profile WWW

She is reffering to inside out turnings with an item added to the hollow. I am wanting to start making these also, just can't afford a chuck right now.

Mon Nov 27, 2006 11:31 am
Profile WWW
Site Admin

Post Inside-out turning
Oh, it should have dawned on me!! Thanks, Dan!

I've done inside out turning. They are actually a lot of fun. I've never put anything into them though. Lots of people create images in the turning, like the second one here.

Here is one project page on how to do them:
http://gulfcoastwoodturners.org/RESOURCES/Hollow%20Ornaments%20-%20Inside-Out.pdf

I hope this helps,

Dennis

Mon Nov 27, 2006 11:50 am
Profile WWW